Skip Navigation

Scout Archives

Home Projects Publications Archives About Sign Up or Log In

Forest Service National Avalanche Center

The Forest Service's National Avalanche Center teaches users the basics of how to recognize avalanche terrain and how to travel safely in these environments. Users can view images of the four kinds of avalanches: slab, ice fall, point release, and wet. Through a slide presentation, visitors can discover how to safely spend a day in the backcountry. The website also addresses how to survive an avalanche. Afterward, users can take a virtual backcountry tour and test their avalanche skills. Researchers can discover the past and present projects of a variety of scientists to develop avalanche technology for workers including the SnowMicroPen, which is a penetrometer for collecting detailed snow profile information.
?  Cumulative Rating: (not yet rated)
Archived Scout Publication URL
Scout Publication
Date of Scout Publication
Date Of Record Creation
2005-03-03 10:56:49
Date Of Record Release
2005-03-24 21:28:50
Resource URL Clicks

Resource Comments

(no comments available yet for this resource)