Starting in the early 1920, writers and other literary types who stopped by Frank Shay's bookshop in Greenwich Village began autographing one of the doors in his store. Eventually 242 different artists and others signed the door, and it eventually found its way to the Harry Ransom Center at The University of Texas at Austin. The door is a fascinating document "that defined this slice of Bohemia from 1920 to 1925." On this site, visitors can click on "The Door" to explore the door in detail, and they can zoom in and out to view both identified and unidentified signatures. Clicking on the list of signatures will reveal a brief biographical sketch of each identified artist, and in some cases, links to some of their writings. Moving on, clicking on "Learn about the door as an artifact" will let users learn about how the door moved from place to place before arriving at the Center.