Skip Navigation

Home Projects Publications Archives About Sign Up or Log In
This excellent, seven-part lesson from PBS LearningMedia introduces students to the Five Pillars of Islam, the based duties that guide muslim daily life. The plan includes a pithy overview, a list of objectives, the appropriate grade level (fifth through twelfth), and the suggested time (three or four 45-minute class sessions). In addition, the site links to Media Resources, including short QuickTime video clips on Muslim prayer, Islamic Celebrations, and other topics, and informative Web Sites, such as the BBC's treatment of Islam's Customs (the Five Pillars). The lesson begins with an Introductory Activity, moves into five learning activities, and finishes with a culminating activity. By the end, students should be able to identify and understand the Muslim religious practices of belief, worship, fasting, almsgiving, and pilgrimage.
?  Cumulative Rating: (not yet rated)
GEM Subject
Scout Publication
Date of Scout Publication 2015-12-11
Archived Scout Publication URL

Resource Comments

(no comments available yet for this resource)