Skip Navigation

Scout Archives

Home Projects Publications Archives About Sign Up or Log In

Tate Modern

Yesterday, Queen Elizabeth II officially opened the Tate Modern, Britain's new national museum of modern art housed in a former power station on London's Bankside. Those who weren't invited to the gala opening party last night and can't make it to the official public opening today can still visit the new museum online. In addition to the ordinary visiting information, special exhibitions, and so forth, the site offers a complete overview of the works displayed in each of its four themed groups. Though modern sounding, the four display themes (Landscape/ Matter/ Environment; Still Life/ Object/ Real Life; Nude/ Action/ Body; and History/ Memory/ Society) are actually based on the major genres of art established by the French Academy in the seventeenth century: landscape, still life, the nude, and history painting. Clicking on a section will bring up a list of rooms, each of which links to a short description and list of works. From this list, users can access more information on a particular work (and an image when available) and other pieces by the same artist held at Tate galleries via the Tate Collections Website (see the June 11, 1999 Scout Report).
Archived Scout Publication URL
Scout Publication
Date of Scout Publication
May 12th, 2000
Date Of Record Creation
April 7th, 2003 at 1:49pm
Date Of Record Release
April 7th, 2003 at 1:49pm
Resource URL Clicks


Cumulative Rating
Add Comment


(no comments available yet)